,noodp,noydir" />

Level 2 Course

SQA (BTEC) Level 2 Certificate

The Introduction to the Role of the Professional Taxi and Private Hire Driver (QCF) SQA (BTEC) Level 2 Certificate by flexible / Distance Learning:

  • Is a NEW course for all new taxi and private hire drivers
  • Can help prospective or existing drivers who want to start a career transporting passengers
  • Supports, develops and enhances overall knowledge of the taxi industry
  • No more requirements to attend CPD (Continuous Professional Development) courses
  • The course is at your own time and at your own pace

This course can put you on the road for a successful career as a taxi driver and includes 9  units.

Units on the (SQA/Edexcel BTEC) Level 2 Certificate include:

Unit 1: Health and safety in the taxi and private hire work environment
Unit 2: Road safety when driving passengers in a taxi or private hire vehicle
Unit 3:Professional customer service in the taxi and private hire industry
Unit 4: Taxi and private hire vehicle maintenance and safety inspections
Unit 5: The regulatory framework of the taxi and private hire industry
Unit 6: Taxi and private hire services for passengers who require assistance
Unit 7: Routes and fares in the taxi and private hire vehicle industries
Unit 8: Transporting of parcels, luggage and other items in the taxi and private hire industries
Unit 9: Transporting of children and young people by taxi or private hire vehicle

To do this course you should have a good understanding of the English language, enthusiasm, attitude and commitment to pursue a career in taxi driving.

International entry requirements

If English is not your first language, you will need IELTS 5.5.

What are NVQs and SVQs? 

NVQs are based on national occupational standards.  These standards are statements of performance that describe what competent people in a particular occupation are expected to be able to do.  They cover all the main aspects of an occupation, including current best practice, the ability to adapt to future requirements and the knowledge and understanding that underpin competent performance.

Within reason, NVQs do not have to be completed in a specified amount of time. They can be taken by full-time employees or by school and college students with a work placement or part-time job that enables them to develop the appropriate skills. There are no age limits and no special entry requirements.

SVQs operate in the same way as NVQs.

How are NVQs and SVQs achieved?

NVQs work by testing your abilities in the workplace.  To complete an NVQ you need to prove that you can do certain work-related tasks.  NVQs are assessed in a combination of ways: By portfolio – you build up evidence of what you’ve done at work; and by observation – an assessor watches you work and checks that you can do the tasks.

Candidates produce evidence to prove they have the competence to meet the NVQ standards.  Assessors sign off units when the candidates are ready.  The assessor tests candidates’ knowledge, understanding and work-based performance to make sure they can demonstrate competence in the workplace.

Candidates compare their performance with the standards as they learn.  They look at what they have achieved, how much they still need to do and how they should go about it, until they are assessed as competent for a unit or a whole NVQ.  The system is right for candidates who already have skills and want to increase them, but also for those who are starting from the beginning.  As the system is so flexible, new ways of learning can be used immediately.

WordPress SEO fine-tune by Meta SEO Pack from Poradnik Webmastera